Learning to Learn

Learning to Learn

I was inspired by this daily prompt: Learning

This is what I do. I am an educator by trade. I fell into the profession after college. Seems like I have a knack for it. What I have learned from my years in the classroom is that we are constantly learning to to learn. When I began, I thought it was about teaching but can we honestly teach? I recently read a quote, “I cannot teach anybody anything. I can only make them think.” After years of frustration, I found this quote to be true. I can only change the way people think. I just happen to change the way teenagers think about math.  With that in mind, I had to change my approach. It was my job to learn the way they learned. Did they learn visually, tactically, orally, etc? Once I knew that, I could change my approach to breakdown the barrier.

I had to open their mind to learning. Ultimately, I was more in the business of changing their thinking. It wasn’t about my subject matter. I could careless about it to be honest. In reality, over half of them wouldn’t be using what I was “teaching” in their careers. Wow! I know! What teacher talks like that? But if I could change the way they thought…how much more powerful. Change the thinking is way more powerful than 2+2 =4. If I change their thinking, they can change their friends thinking, their children’s thinking, their grandchildren’s thinking. See how the reach goes farther than 2+2?

So, how do you change thinking? You learn. I had to change how I learned to help them. I had to change the way I learned when I moved into my new role. Adults are a new beast. Adult learning? Changing the thinking of someone who knows it all. (or so they think) “Anyone who stops learning is old, whether at 20 or 80. Anyone who keeps learning stays young.” Henry Ford it the man. Learning is continuous. If you don’t continue to learn new things you get old. You get stuck. You limit what you can do, be that in your career, relationships, hobbies, etc. I never want to get old. I don’t want to stop learning. Technology is helping with this. It is helping me to learn how to learn because I am learning differently.

Personally, I love learning. It’s the heartbeat of my day. Learning something new be it on my phone or computer or about someone makes my day more satisfying. Another day of not getting old. I mean really, who wants to get “old”.

One thought on “Learning to Learn

  1. Very true. I get very scared that I am not being open minded or open to learning new things. I hope that I never stop wanting to learn. Thanks for this post, it really made me think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

